Home / Women of Justice Awards

Women of Justice Awards

November 15, 2012
Raleigh Marriott City Center, NC

To buy photos from the event click here.

North Carolina Lawyers Weekly was proud to host the first Women of Justice awards reception on November 15, 2012. The Women of Justice awards recognize women across the state of North Carolina who have demonstrated leadership, integrity, service, sacrifice and accomplishment in improving the quality of justice and exemplifying the highest ideals of the legal profession. The awards will reach out to women in various segments of the legal community, including the bar, the bench, public office, business, academia, non-profits and the state-at-large.

We congratulate the 2012 honorees in the following award categories:

Leaders of Tomorrow Awards
Awarded to women law students at area law schools who demonstrate leadership, professionalism and a passion for making a difference in the justice system or the legal profession.

  • Kaitlin Shimansky, Elon University School of Law
  • Kristina Wolf, Wake Forest University School of Law

Rising Star Awards
Awarded to women lawyers 40 years old and younger or within the first 10 years of practice who have already made a difference in the justice system or the profession and who appear on a path toward even greater accomplishment.

  • Tania Archer, Moore & Van Allen, PLLC
  • Kathleen Q. DuBois, Crumley Roberts, LLP
  • Rebecca Lindahl, Katten Muchin Rosenman, LLP
  • Kimberly Turner Miller, Owens & Miller, PLLC

Legal Scholar Awards
Awarded to women faculty members or administrators at area law schools who fulfill the above ideals through their own work with the justice system, through their research or scholarship, or through teaching and inspiring others.

  • Melissa A. Essary, Campbell University School of Law
  • Beth Norbrey Hopkins, Wake Forest University School of Law

Citizenship Awards
Generally, though not necessarily, awarded to women non-lawyers who fulfill the above ideals in improving the quality of justice in the community-at-large.

  • Tammy West, District Attorney’s Office (25th District)

Litigation Practitioner Awards
Awarded to women litigation practitioners who fulfill the above ideals in improving the quality of justice or contributing to the betterment of the profession.

  • Shelby Benton, Hollowell & Benton, P.A.
  • Janet Ward Black, Ward Black Law
  • Joycelyn “Jo” Eason, Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP
  • Nancy Black Norelli, Norelli Law
  • Patricia P. Shields, Troutman Sanders, LLP
  • Barbara  (Bonnie) B. Weyher, Yates, McLamb & Weyher, L.L.P.

Business Practitioner Awards
Awarded to women business practitioners who fulfill the above ideals in improving the quality of justice or contributing to the betterment of the profession.

  • Patricia L. Holland, Jackson Lewis LLP
  • Rosemary Gill Kenyon, Smith, Anderson, Blount, Dorsett, Mitchell & Jernigan, L.L.P.
  • Jill Wilson, Brooks, Pierce, McLendon, Humphrey and Leonard, LLP

Public Official Awards
Awarded to women judges and other public service officials whose public service fulfills the above ideals in improving the quality of justice.

  • Lisa Bell, District Court Judge, 26th Judicial District
  • Tyyawdi (Ty) M. Hands, District Court Judge, 26th Judicial District
  • Gwyn Hilburn, District Court Judge, Judicial District 3A
  • Rickye McKoy-Mitchell, District Court Judge- State of North Carolina
  • Elizabeth Trosch, District Court Judge, 26th Judicial District

Public Service Practitioner Awards
Awarded to women government and non-profit lawyers who improve the quality of justice or contribute to the betterment of the profession.

  • Dianne Chipps Bailey, Robinson Bradshaw & Hinson, P.A.
  • Christine Mumma, NC Center on Actual Innocence

Woman of the Year

  • Lisa Bell, District Court Judge, 26th Judicial District


Special thanks to our sponsor:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


Scroll To Top