Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / News / Lawyers in the News / Wright to chair Morehead-Cain board

Wright to chair Morehead-Cain board

David C. Wright III will serve as chairman of the Morehead-Cain Foundation board of trustees beginning July 1 — the first chair who is not related to the Morehead-Cain families.

Wright, an attorney with Robinson Bradshaw, will replace Lucy Hanes Chatham as chair of the scholarship foundation, according to a press release from Robinson Bradshaw. Established in 1945, the scholarship provides a fully funded opportunity to attend UNC-Chapel Hill as an undergraduate student.

Wright previously served as the general counsel for the foundation. He is being replaced in that position by Pearlynn G. Houck – a litigator also with Robinson Bradshaw.

“I am honored to serve as chair of the Morehead-Cain Foundation board,” Wright said. “As a Morehead Scholar in the class of 1980, this program personally means a lot to me. I’m excited about continuing the great work of the Foundation and its unwavering commitment to invest in UNC-Chapel Hill.”

Robinson Bradshaw has deep ties to the Morehead-Cain Foundation. Firm co-founder Russell M. Robinson II was named general counsel in 1965 and served for 42 years, and three of the firm’s attorneys have since served in that role. Robinson Bradshaw currently has eight Morehead scholars serving as lawyers in the firm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *